Club’s memorial trophy event

Cavendish Golf Club recently held the inaugural John Slater Memorial Competition with a huge field of 72 players taking part.

The event was held in honour of John who recently passed away. He was a long-standing member at Cavendish and his name appeared 21 times on the club’s winners boards.

He also achieved a total of 19 ‘holes in one’ during his career, with 13 of those coming at Cavendish.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The event was won by Dave Armitt, Steve Bell, John Carr and John Lomas with 85 points.

Previously, Ian Middleton was the runaway winner of the Mel Pye trophy with 43 points.

Runner-up was Oliver Toseland (36) and third and fourth respectively were Dave Smeaton and Malc Forder (33).

Elsewhere, in the medal 7 Division One, Julian Mitchell scored 63 to finish top, whilst in the medal 8 Division One, Des Coleman scored 64 to scoop victory.