Hayfield win top-of-the-table clash to remain in title hunt

Hayfield closed the gap to leaders Hawk Green in Division One of the PS Derbyshire & Cheshire Cricket League with victory in their top-of-the-table clash on Saturday.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 22nd August 2014, 12:00 pm
New Mills batsman Jonathan Duckworth in action.
New Mills batsman Jonathan Duckworth in action.

In a low-scoring affair, S Furness (39) and K Sharpe (46) helped visiting Hayfield to 143-7. Although J Longhorn carried his bat for 46 for Hawk Green, D Aldridge took 4-30 as they were dismissed for 105.

Whaley Bridge travelled to Dove Holes and posted 262-7, L Jones with 103 not out as K Jones took 5-70. S Cartledge then scored 43 not out, but Ed Kitchen’s 7-19 limited the Dove Holes reply to 98.

Birch Vale were bowled out for 115 at home to Woodley, Steve Burns scoring 34 as Connor Cramwell took 5-33. In a tense finish M Orpen took 5-47 but the visitors limped home with a wicket to spare.

New Mills cc v Buxton cc. Buxton bowler Andrew Slater.

Dinting smashed 237-5 at home to Old Glossop, Martyn Knight top-scoring with 93. Old Glossop saw J Eyre make 36 and M McGrail 39, but B Thompson took 4-46 as the visitors slumped to 125 all out.

Compstall batted first at home to Broadbottom and had a magnificent 108 not out from D Bailey to thank for their total of 207-5, Danny France taking 3-59. R Welsh then made 54, but 5-43 from S Bass helped dismiss the visitors for 139.

Tintwistle made the trip to Mottram, who found M Harris in superb form as he made 108 not out in his side’s 204-7. Only Steffan Fielding (35) could offer any resistance as J Pool took 8-56 to reduce the home side to 141 all out.

In Division Two, Buxworth visited Hadfield and were bowled out for just 40 thanks to Cameron Ball (3-9) and Rick Ball (3-1). Hadfield cruised to victory without losing a wicket.

Hollingworth posted 193-8 at Hazel Grove as C Leech smashed 103 and K Akram 32, while D Nunn took 6-29. A Thurston (44), J Dunn (32), R Burke (43 not out) and A Tomlinson (52 not out) ensured the run chase went into the last over, with Tomlinson hitting the winning six. Saj Mohammed took 3-83 for Hollingworth.

Newton hosted Charlesworth and slumped to 37 all out, Gareth Evans taking 4-15 and A Radcliffe 3-8. Charlesworth dropped three wickets on their way to victory.

New Mills batted first at home to Buxton and scored a massive 253-4, thanks to D Coverley (85) and J Duckworth (96 not out). Buxton had no reply to the bowling of D Ward (5-18) or M Birchenall (4-23) as they were all out for 56.

In Division Three, Charlesworth batted first at home to Dove Holes and posted 181-9, D Gilham top-scoring with 44 and P Scowen taking 5-65. Scowen then made 69, but A Dale (3-29) and M Elliott (4-21) reduced the visitors to 159 all out.

Broadbottom were bowled out for 104 at home to New Mills, P Rowston top-scoring with 42 as A Holmes took 3-16 and J Henderson 3-27. B McManus then took 5-26, as New Mills crept home for the loss of eight wickets.

Joe Buttler hit an unbeaten 147 for Hawk Green as they posted 256-7 at Hayfield. The hosts had no answer to M Hudson (5-43) in their reply of 125.

Woodley batted first against visiting Hadfield and finished on 180-6, DS Oldland (33) and C Middleton (40 not out) among the scorers. Hadfield finished on 168-8, Bob Hirst scoring 33 as D Nelson and P Harris took three wickets apiece.

Dinting posted 229 all out at Old Glossop thanks to T George (77) and M Conroy (70), while Ivan Twist took 4-43 and W Hallam 4-35. J Cannon hit 68 in reply, but 3-46 from S Garlick and 3-23 from I Butterworth saw the home side dismissed for 210.

Mottram amassed 133-9 at Tintwistle, M Wood top-scoring with 29 as S Higginbottom took 3-21. M Lilley (64) and K Davies (53) were unbeaten as Tintwistle lost just one wicket in reply.

Hazel Grove saw Andy Oldfield smash 136 in his side’s 200 all out at Hollingworth in Division Four, with L Belfield, R Khan and W Quershi taking three wickets each. U Siddique (60) top-scored as Hollingworth reached 201-5, Joe Hall taking 3-58.

Birch Vale posted 264-8 batting first at Buxworth, with A Johnson (87) top-scoring and Alan Reynolds taking 3-82. Buxworth slumped to 52 all out in reply, J Bradshaw with 4-10.

Buxton were bowled out for 61 at home to Compstall, V Clarke taking 5-13 and Mike Hawkin 3-5. D Ray scored an unbeaten 31 as Compstall lost just one wicket in reply.

Whaley Bridge hosted Newton and made 168-7, E Simmonds with 37 as J Koria took 3-42. In another final-over finish, Newton reached 171-3, J Maden unbeaten on 96 and C Penney 44 not out in a total of 171-3. C Wild took 3-44 with the ball.