Clark finishes highest in clutch of Buxton riders to take on climb

Buxton Cycling Club’s Open Hill Climb was held recently on the long climb out of Whaley Bridge towards Buxton.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 17th September 2013, 8:11 am

The winner of the race, amongst a field of 53, was Tejvan Pettinger of Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team.

Pettinger’s time of 13 minutes 13.0 seconds averaged faster than 20 mph for the 4.4 mile climb.

For Buxton CC, Sam Clark’s time of 15:19.2 saw his finish in a highly-respectable fourth place.

Sign up to our daily Buxton Advertiser Today newsletter

Not far behind Sam was Bhima Bowden, who secured fifth place with a time of 15:22.6.

Others representing Buxton were 10th-placed Sam Garner (15:44.3), in 18th was Chris Lea (16:22.1) and in 33rd place came Stuart Baker with a time of 17:17.0.

Finishing lower down in 40th was Simon Baines (18:03.1), 45th was Michael Allcroft (19:03.8) and in 51st was Simon Cocksey (21:37.9).

The fastest woman, and 24th overall, was Vanessa Whitfield of Velo Club St.Raphael.

She crossed the line in a time of 16.44.9.