Review: English Chamber Orchestra at Sheffield City Hall

English Chamber Orchestra at Sheffield City Hall

Stephanie Gonley director/violin, Ofer Falk viola

This much acclaimed chamber orchestra certainly lived up to our expectations.

The first half of the concert consisted of two great eighteenth century works. Haydn’s Symphony No 49, La Passione was dramatic and powerful. Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E flat Major was beautifully expressive. The complex dialogue between the two outstanding soloists Stephanie Gonley director/violin and Ofer Falk viola was exquisite.

Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings was once voted the ‘saddest classical work ever’ and it was played with dignity and restraint. The orchestra’s performance of Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings was really beautiful.

Most Popular

    A lovely concert, much appreciated by the audience.