Tribute to league volunteers

The annual meeting of the Hope Valley Football League was held at the Blue Circle Sports Club.

Chairman Bill Reilly conducted the roll call of clubs, most of whose representatives were present.

The president, Tom Gladwin, congratulated all the teams who had won league or cup competitions, and Dronfield Town and Blue Circle, finalists in the Divisional County Cup and Junior County Cup respectively.

He expressed thanks to all club secretaries, chairmen and their committees whose work week in and week out was, he said, such a vital element in the successful running of the league.

He also paid tribute to Mr Reilly; Sue and Keith Walker, general secretary and fixtures secretary respectively; treasurer Lynn Ritchie; referees' secretary John Goldthorpe; registrar John Greatorix; and trophies organiser Allan Coupland.

"In these days," the president said, "it is increasingly difficult to find people who are prepared to put in many hours of voluntary effort, and this league would not be able to continue without the work of all those on the Management Council, and particularly its officers.

"Can I emphasise the need for all our clubs to give the League Council their full support and co-operation."

Finally, Mr Gladwin expressed thanks to all the referees, without whose support the league would be unable to function.

Proposals for alterations to rules submitted by clubs were voted on. Among those agreed were an increase in match fees for referees from 10 to 15, and a change of date for league withdrawal notice from May 31 to March 31.

Arrangements for the presentation of league and cup trophies were made by Mr Coupland, and these were handed out by the president to representatives of the clubs concerned.

The Roden Cup went to Bamford and the Dore and Totley Cup to runners-up Furness Vale.

The Cliff Ellis Memorial Trophy was won by Dronfield Town and the Derwent Shield by runners-up Bakewell.

Whaley Bridge took the Dore Shield, while the Bakewell and District Cup went to Chapel Town.

The Lawrence Cup was presented to Parkhouse and the Adrian Leigh Memorial Trophy to runners-up Speedwell Townes.

The Archie Thomas Memorial Cup went to Premier League championship winners Gamesley and the Johnson Bowl to runners-up Parkhouse.

The A Division Ellis Shirt Memorial Trophy was presented to league winners Gamesley Reserves and the Hope Valley Cup to runners-up Bakewell.

The B Division Dronfield Woodhouse Cup went to league winners Tideswell and the Challenge Cup to runners-up Bamford.

The George Alford Memorial Trophy for the club showing outstanding qualities of merit and co-operation was won by Holmesfield Phoenix, while the referees' award went to Phil Fleming.

There were three withdrawals from the league - the Gamesley Premier and A Division sides and Speedwell Townes.

Applications from Eyam Sports and Parks Utd (Buxton) were unanimously accepted.

The opening date for next season's fixtures will be Saturday August 30.

Clubs fielding teams in the A and B divisions are asked to arrange two evening fixtures before the official opening date.

Clubs finding difficulty in fielding teams on the first two Saturdays would by mutual agreement be allowed to make alternative arrangements.

Mr Reilly thanked all the officers and council members for the support he had received and appealed to clubs to ensure that their grounds were sufficiently well maintained to avoid unnecessary cancellations.