Peak league honours its cricketers at annual dinner

Share this article

LOCAL cricketers were honoured at the Peak Sports Derbyshire and Cheshire Cricket League’s Annual Presentation Dinner.

The flagship event was held at The Insider Suite, Edgeley Park, Stockport, on Friday November 11.

BBC Radio’s Test Match Special commentator Jonathan Agnew was the guest speaker, and comedy was provided by Sid Dennis.

Announced on the night were the winners of the Peter Allen Sportsmanship Awards. The 1st XI prize was presented to Joe Gregory of Dove Holes, with the 2nd XI award going to Ian Fielding of Broadbottom.

Other individual award winners were: 1st Division Wicketkeeping (Hazeldine Trophy), Mike Barber, Tintwistle CC; 1st Division Bowling (George Mullaney Cup), John Coleman, Dinting CC; 1st Division Batting (George Mullaney Cup), Gary Pheasey, Chapel-en-le-Frith CC; 2nd Division Wicketkeeping (AH Medlock Cup), Michael Hollin of Charlesworth CC and Ryan Murray of Hadfield CC; 2nd Division Bowling (Roy Ridings Trophy), Michael Birchenhall, New Mills CC; 2nd Division Batting (Bill Higginbottom Cup), Dan Jones, Dove Holes CC; 3rd Division Wicketkeeping (Ernie Morrell Memorial Cup), Richard Bent, Newton CC; 3rd Division Bowling (JB Wild Memorial Cup), James Blackwell, Tintwistle CC; 3rd Division Batting (JB Wild Memorial Cup), Jamie Cannon, Old Glossop CC; 4th Division Wicketkeeping (Dennis Harding Cup), Lee Sykes, Hazel Grove CC; 4th Division Bowling (John Goddard Cup), Habib Choudhury, High Lane CC; 4th Division Batting (Joe Lomas Cup), Alistair Stevens, New Mills CC.

Championship Awards: John Isherwood Cup (1st Division Championship), Dinting; Terry Hill Memorial Cup (2nd Division Championship), New Mills; Crossmoor Cup (3rd Division Championship), Woodley; Rick Knott Cup (4th Division Championship), New Mills. Knockout Competitions: Bissenden Cup, New Mills; John S Hall Memorial Cup (Bissenden Cup Final Man of the Match), Stefan Fielding, New Mills; Hawke Trophy, Dinting; Cartledge Cup (Hawke Trophy Final Man of the Match), Adam Worrall, Dinting.

First prize of £200 in the Fair Play Awards went to Buxworth, followed by Broadbottom and Birch Vale with prizes of £100 and £50 respectively.