Playoff decider

IN MEMORY OF CLIVE: Prizewinners in the Clive Boulton Celebration Cup are presented with their prizes by Clive's father Keith and daughters Rebbeca and Jenni. Photo contributed.
IN MEMORY OF CLIVE: Prizewinners in the Clive Boulton Celebration Cup are presented with their prizes by Clive's father Keith and daughters Rebbeca and Jenni. Photo contributed.

A PLAYOFF is to be held to determine the winner of this year’s Cavendish Cup following a three-way tie.

Pat Campbell (82-17=65), Mark Chuwen (77-12=65) and Colin Pritchard (81-16=65) all finished tied for first place in the Cavendish Golf Club competition.

Junior captain George Bloor carded the best gross score of 68 and John May (net 69) finished with the best full handicap.

Meanwhile, a playoff for the Jubilee Cup resulted in a victory for Mick McDonald over Ben Minshull.

Results from Medal 8 - Division One: 1st, J Haddon, 72-6=66; 2nd, N Bolton, 76-9=67; 3rd, R Holmes, 70-2=68. Division Two: 1st, N Salt, 78-12=66; 2nd, E Wright, 77-11=66; 3rd, D Lomas, 82-15=67. Division Three: 1st, G Costello, 88-17=71; 2nd, J Carr, 90-19=71; 3, M Oakes, 89-18=71.

In the Midweek medal, Doug Thompson scored a brilliant 75-14=61, followed by Mick McDonald (78-14=64) and Chris Martin (82-18=64).

Steve Bell won the Calamity Jane Putter with an equally brilliant 68-6=6, ahead of Robert Forder (78-13=65 and Steve Goldstraw (83-18=65).

In a well-contested Gents Open AM-AM, with prizes down to tenth place, a visiting team of D Dolman, P Duffy, A North and M Richards won with 87 points.

In second place were a Cavendish team of O Toseland, J Haddon, D Coleman and E Wright (85), from visitors J Crompton, C Greenwood, G Dickins and W Eston (85).

l Over 150 golfers from around the North West took part in New Mills Golf Club’s Seniors Open.

The betterball stableford competition was won after a card playoff by R. Bourne and D. Malkin, from Tytherington Golf Club, with 41 points, from D. Wilson and J. Knowles (41 points) from Didsbury Golf Club.

In third place were T. Mottershead and K. Moore from AVRO Golf Club (38 points), on a card playoff with J. Obasuke and D. Rowles from Davyhulme Golf Club (38 points).

Other prize-winners were D. Asprey and D. Clarke, from Poulton Golf Club, with the best back nine, while E. Botham (hole four) and D. Batterly (hole 15) won prizes for nearest the pin on two of the par three holes.

The competition wasn’t open to New Mills members, although many supported the event by acting in a variety of roles from ball spotters to car park attendants.

l At Chapel-en-le-Frith Golf Club on Sunday, the Lauder Cup was won by Simon Hibbert (72+68=140), from Harry Hibbert (74+69=143) and Dave Beard (70+73=143).

The Scott Cup was won by Paul Elliot (70+71=141), ahead of John Preston (69+74=143) and Stuart Ford (75+74=149).

In the ladies section, the Geoff Hibbert Trophy was won by Anne Hatton (net 70), from Pam Wilson (net 73) and Hilary Chatterton (net 75).

l Members of Buxton & High Peak Golf Club turned out in force for the inaugural Clive Boulton Celebration Cup.

The competition is held annually in remembrance of Clive, who was a great servant to the club over the years.

It was won by Anthony Grindey with a score of 41 points, from Alex Marsden (40 points) and Joe Denardo (39 points). In fourth place was Phil Anderson (39 points), ahead of Gill Morris (38 points), while Declan O’Dwyer (70) carded the best gross score.

The Hartington Cup singles knockout was won by Paul Longden ahead of Graham Knock, and Phil Godfrey and Ian White lifted the McKenna Cup pairs knockout, from Des Houghton and Jason Rowlands.

Results from the Weekend Medal - Division One: 1st, Elvyn Birch, 77-6-71; 2nd, Tony Hooper, 83-3-75. Division Two: 1st, Ian Drummond, 83-16-67; 2nd, Chris Heathcote, 82-13-69. Division Three: 1st, Robert Johnson, 91-23-68; 2nd, Andrew Lisser, 88-19-69.

Midweek Stableford - Division One: 1st, John Barber, 36 points; 2nd, Jacob Bagshaw, 36 points. Division Two: 1st, Tony Middleton, 34 points; 2nd, Mick Plimmer, 31 points. Division Three: 1st, Don McKay, 33 points; 2nd, Denis Allerton, 30 points. Plimmer also achieved a hole in one at the sixth hole.

Winner of the ladies’ Coronation Cup was Gill Morris (82-9-73), from Linda Green (97-19-78) and Lisa Walker 90-12-78, while the ladies Medal 6 was won by Gill Godfrey (91-22-69), from Gill Morris (81-9-72) and Janet Clark (87-12-75).