Buxton athletes celebrate year of success

editorial image

Buxton AC celebrated the 2017 achievements of its members at their annual Christmas party and awards ceremony at the end of a highly successful 12 months that saw them named England Athletics National Club of the Year.

Across the four club championships, more people have taken part this year than ever before, with over 1,200 race results recorded by club members.

It was very close in some categories, with the places decided by a single point in some of the championships.

In the men’s Club Championships, first place was Alasdair Campbell, with Jake Fearn second, Sol Clark third, Rob White first Vet (over 40) and Pete Bailey first Super Vet (over 50).

For the ladies, Amy Clark took top place, with Jo Bednall second, Emma Wentworth third, Tania Wilson first Vet and Kate Ledin first Super Vet.

In the Fell Championships, Jo Bednall and Bryan McKenna took first place, with Tania Wilson and Jon Sewell finishing first Female and Male Vet respectively.

In the Road Championships, each race over six distances (5K, 5Mile, 10K, 10Mile, half marathon and full marathon) is graded according to the runner’s finish time and age, with their five best times counting.

Winners were Rob White and Amy Clark, with Sol Clark & Kate Ledin second and Jason Bennett & Sheila Bradley third.

First place in the male Ultra Championship was a tie, with Jon Sewell and Richard Bouglas sharing the title.

Amy Clark was the female Ultra Championship winner, with Simon Moorhouse and Emma Wentworth taking the first male and female veteran prizes.

While all of those awards are based on running performance, members of the Buxton AC committee vote for some others. Daniel Latham was awarded Best Newcomer, with Bryan McKenna and Gemma Clarke Most Improved Male and Female respectively.

Gemma Clarke also won the Most Improved Mile award, by shaving a massive one minute and 37 seconds off her time between the March and October races.

There are also two prizes awarded to club members who have started running with the Target 5K programme.

Laura White was the recipient of the Target 5K Group Award with Sarah Hargreaves winning the Target 5K Endeavour Award.

The very special award of Services To The Club went to two people who have worked tirelessly to make Buxton AC the award-winning club it has become today.

Club chairman Chris Bent and his wife Angela were instrumental in founding the club back in 1977, and have turned a small group of like-minded runners into the 2017 England Athletics National Club of the Year.