Burbage impress in First Division

THE CROWN Green Bowling season ended this year with very mild weather compared to previous seasons, when the autumn chill has set in making the last matches of the season uncomfortable to play.

The Buxton and District League’s First Division has been won in convincing style by Burbage.

Interestingly, they achieved maximum points in a match only once during the season. Their tightest match was against Chapel Park A, when they squeaked home by five chalks, winning 180-175.

Second Division champions are Peak Dale, who did not fail in their final games as they did last season. They were followed in runners-up position by Cote Heath A, and both these clubs will enhance the standard of the First Division in 2012.

Other winners in Buxton League competitions were: League Average Winner Division 1 – Colin Parrott (Burbage) and Division 2 – Rex Hallows (Peak Dale); Last Man Standing Division 1 – David Mycock (Burbage) and Division 2 – John Flaherty (Furness Vale); White Cup Winner John Bramwell (Whaley Bridge), Runner-up John Guess (Burbage); Jack Hitchings Pairs Winners Ian Hibbert and J. P. Hall (Chapel Park), Runners-up Steve Barber and Tim Norton (Chapel Park); Alcock Cup Winner Ian Hibbert (Chapel Park), Runner-up Matt Bradwell (Tideswell); League Merit Winner Steve Barber (Chapel Park), Runner-up Richard Briddon (Peak Dale); Veterans Merit Winner Dan Blunt (Buxton Park), Runner-up Dennis Clark (Buxton Park); Veterans Handicap Winner Rex Hallows (Peak Dale), Runner-up Ian Hibbert (Chapel Park); Rathbone Shield Winners Burbage A, Runners-up Ashwood Park A; Boston Doubles Winners Chapel Park A, Runners-up Fairfield A; Chell Shield Winners Whaley Bridge A, Runners-up Peak Dale A.

The annual presentation evening will take place on Friday October 28 at Great Rocks Social Club, Peak Dale. Tickets can be obtained from the secretary.

Dan Blunt