Bev’s Golden 20 puts her on the front foot for London Marathon

Bev Golden, who took part in the Trimpell 20-mile road race at the weekend.
Bev Golden, who took part in the Trimpell 20-mile road race at the weekend.
Share this article

Buxton Half-Marathon organiser Bev Golden travelled to the historic city of Lancaster to compete in the Trimpell 20-mile road race at the weekend.

In a warm-up for the London Marathon in April, Bev had a promising run to finish in a time of three hours and one minute, as the 14th fastest female vet over-35.

At the Wolf’s Pit Fell Race out of Bradwell,in the Hope Valley, juniors Will Tighe and Elliot Meylan finished third and fourth respectively in the 12-13 category.

James Tighe was tenth and Max Graham 13th in the 10-11 category, and Lucy Bednall finished seventh in the girls’ 10-11 category.

Running for Pennine, Lucas Parker finished second in the 12-13 category and Leo Parker came home in 14th in the 10-11 category.

The latest Parkrun results saw Steve Claye competing at his favourite Marple race and finishing in 21:03, while Ben Light recorded a time of 19:31 at Bramhall.

Buxton was well represented at the new Lyme Park event, with Rob White taking first place in a time of 18:37.

Pete Bailey finished in 22:46, ahead of son Alfie (25:07), Rachel Dowle (29:12), Clare Bradshaw (31:51) and, taking part for the first time, Sharon Millner (32:29).

The second event in the 2014 Buxton AC championship, the Olympic 2012 metre race around the Pavilion Gardens, was held last week and attracted a record turn-out of some 40 members.

As a warm-up for the Parkrun three days later, Rob White recorded a winning time of 06:32 for the distance, closely followed by Jake Fearn (06:38).

The first female home was Rachel Chatwin (07:45), while the first junior male home was Louis Forshaw-Perring (7:26) and the first junior female was Lucy Bednall (08:49).

Ten Buxton members took on the challenge of the 21-mile Grindleford Gallop recently.

First home was Mark Cudahy in a time of three hours, 25 minutes and 48 seconds, followed by Mark Halsey (03:28:33), Aleks Kashefi (03:39:24), Gayle Johnson (03:52:37), Simon Moorhouse (03:55:27), Bev Golden (04:04:02), Clare Holdcroft (04:10:58), Elizabeth Nocton (04:31:34), Louis Forshaw-Perring (04:17:56) and Dave Forshaw (04:23:21).