Silkmen hit New Mills for six

Share this article

New Mills 1, Macclesfield Town 6

FOR THE second week in succession, Blue Square Bet Premier opposition triumphed at Church Lane as a strong Macclesfield Town side hit New Mills for six.

The visitors, looking to bounce back to npower League Two at the first opportunity this season, wasted no time as Matthew Barnes-Homer opened the scoring in the first 90 seconds when he ran onto a through ball and slotted past James Coates.

That early lead was doubled ten minutes later when Charlie Henry latched onto Euloge Ahodikpe’s cross and dispatched an excellent volley from the edge of the penalty area.

The visitors’ pace and one-touch passing was proving a constant threat to the home defence but it was The Millers who reduced the arrears on the half-hour. Skipper Carlos Meakin picked up a loose ball 20 yards from goal and drilled an unstoppable left-foot shot past the helpless Lance Cronin.

Hopes of a New Mills comeback were dashed though as they conceded another two goals before the break. Firstly Ahodikpe was the recipient of a loose pass in midfield and clinically capitalised on his fortune by neatly finishing past Coates.

The home keeper was left exposed again shortly after when Matthew Barnes-Homer beat the offside trap to score with relative ease.

The Millers created some half chances in the early stages of the second half. Max Lonsdale curled a shot narrowly over the crossbar from distance and Steve Moore was denied by two good defensive blocks.

Despite making a number of substitutions, Macclesfield continued to attack and stretched their advantage further with 20 minutes remaining. Coates was unfortunate to concede again when he initially blocked Arthur Gnahoua’s shot with a superb reflex save but the rebound fell kindly back to the striker.

The final goal of the game arrived in the last minute when substitute Jack Mackreth ran through a tired looking home defence and cheekily chipped the ball into the roof of the net.

New Mills starting XI: Coates, Armstrong, Appleton, Bowler, Chadwick, Fitzpatrick, Meakin, Young, Mendes, Moore, Horrocks.