Penalty save secures point for Tideswell

Share this article

A Division

Tideswell United 2

Hathersage 2

Tideswell United and Hathersage locked horns at Pursglove, resulting in an enthralling encounter between two committed sides.

United were forced into several changes prior to kick-off, and it was the visitors who opened the scoring midway through the half when Ben Maskrey got the wrong side of Lockwood to neatly finish.

Tideswell were far better in the second period and justly equalised when Josh Hall smashed home Rhys Hanson’s through ball.

Dean Morris put the Sawyeds in front, heading home Hall’s corner, but Hathersage levelled the score as Liam Robinson headed into his own goal.

The final kick of the game saw Elliot Backhouse superbly save a Ben Maskrey penalty kick.

Tideswell: E Backhouse, M Parker, D Lockwood, M Nadin, Dean Morris, L Robinson, Darren Morris, J Bradbury, J Hall (P Boulton), M Grindey, R Hanson (A Styler).

Unused sub: M Lomas. Markovitz Man of the Match: Mike Parker.