Millers maintain their unbeaten start

Evo-Stik Division One South: Coalville Town 0, New Mills 0

NEW MILLS extended their unbeaten start to the season to five games as they came away with a point from a game of very few clear-cut chances.

The Millers shaded the first half against last season’s FA Vase runners-up, with chances falling to Ashley Stott, Daniel Douglas-Pringle, Carlos Meakin and Tony Barras, while Coalville Town were mainly restricted to shots from the edge of the penalty box.

The first half’s best chance came as the half-time whistle approached. The Millers won a free kick some 30 yards out in a central position, from which Meakin rattled the crossbar with Sean Bowles beaten.

The second half was a carbon copy of the first with The Millers taking the game to Coalville without looking too dangerous in front of goal.

The final third of the match saw Coalville start to come into the game as they looked to break the deadlock.

Ben Proctor in the Millers goal was forced to make his first save of the match on 66 minutes after a shot from Nathan Jones, and just four minutes later Proctor was again called into action. Coalville won a corner, which when taken seemed to deceive the goalkeeper and as he came for it through a crowded box he could only palm it down, but the subsequent shot from Callum Woodward found Michael Bowler on the line and he hacked it away to safety.

As the game entered injury time a dinked cross down the Millers right was flicked on by Luke Horrocks who found Douglas-Pringle clean through on goal but the assistant referee had his flag up for offside.

As the Coalville defender went to retrieve the ball to restart play Douglas-Pringle kicked the ball out of his reach. A subsequent scuffle broke out and despite not connecting Douglas-Pringle raised his hand and saw red for his actions.

The Millers held on through five minutes of injury time, with debutant substitute Nikolaus Kudiersky making a vital block deep into stoppage time.

Overall a draw was the right result for both teams who will hope to be in the mix for honours at the end of the season.

New Mills: Proctor, Bowler, Gorman, Barras, Brown, (Kudiersky), Carey (Curley), Meakin, Young, Douglas-Pringle, Stott (Crowe), Horrocks. Unused sub: Pickering.