It’s the pits for Coalville as Millers dig deep for win

New Mills 5, Coalville Town 2

New Mills reached the Third Qualifying Round of the FA Carlsberg Trophy for only the second time in the club’s history after beating Coalville Town on Saturday.

Danny Davidson spurned two good early opportunities for the visitors, before they eventually took the lead in the 14th minute when defender Sam Carline nodded home Callum Woodward’s inswinging corner.

Three minutes later David Fitzpatrick’s 30-yard, left-footed equaliser rocketed into the top corner of Sean Bowles’ goal.

Coalville continued pressing, but it was New Mills who secured the interval lead as Danny Grimshaw’s pinpoint right-wing cross found Michael Fish, whose stooping header was just too good for Bowles.

The Millers came flying out of the blocks at the start of the second period and Carlos Meakin doubled his side’s advantage by applying a measured finish to conclude a fine passing move involving Fish and Luke Horrocks.

Coalville got themselves a lifeline when they were awarded a penalty just after the hour when Dave Chadwick was adjudged to have felled an attacker in the box, and skipper Cameron Stuart just beat Andrew Mills despite the goalkeeper guessing correctly.

Steve Moore missed a glorious gilt-edged chance almost immediately after the penalty but the striker somehow missed the gaping target from point blank range.

Fortunately that miss didn’t prove too costly when Meakin restored the Millers’ two-goal advantage 20 minutes from time with a deflected effort from around the edge of the 18-yard box which looped over the stranded Bowles.

Andrew Mills prevented a deflected effort with a fine reflex save, and it was left to Russ Headley to apply the gloss to New Mills’ afternoon.

As the game entered stoppage time, the home side counter-attacked down the left flank and when the ball broke loose to the substitute, he kept his composure to round the keeper.

New Mills: Mills, Bowler, Fitzpatrick, Grimshaw (Innes), Chadwick, Weston, Meakin, Young, Fish (Burgess), Moore (Headley), Horrocks. Unused substitutes: Armstrong, Cox. Attendance: 203.