Deegan double as Millers march on

Action from New Mills AFC v Brigg Town. Photo: Allan Toft.
Action from New Mills AFC v Brigg Town. Photo: Allan Toft.

Evo-Stik Division One South: New Mills 3, Brigg Town 1

A BRACE from striker Ben Deegan extended New Mills’ unbeaten league sequence to five games as they defeated Brigg Town at Church Lane on Saturday.

fter a very even start, the game was illuminated by a stunning opening goal in the 13th minute, Deegan thundering the ball home from outside the penalty area to give goalkeeper Tom Woodhead no chance.

Despite that setback, Brigg capitalised on a defensive mistake to equalise just after the midway point of the first half.

The defence never really recovered from when Nick Swirad misjudged the bounce of the ball in the middle of the park and striker Darren Mansaram was the ultimate beneficiary as he swept home skipper Liam Davis’ cross.

At the other end, New Mills’ lively attackers looked dangerous virtually every time they attacked and it was Deegan again who restored the home side’s lead eight minutes before the interval.

Patient build-up play was rewarded when Luke Horrocks attacked with purpose and appeared to be upended by Martyn Gee in the area. While there were vociferous shouts for a penalty, Deegan exploited the advantage played to him by the referee and slotted the ball into the corner of the net from close range.

The Millers looked to press home their advantage immediately after the break and almost scored another when Deegan turned creator but Carlos Meakin couldn’t quite connect with the striker’s low centre.

The crucial third goal arrived shortly after when Mike Bowler’s cross found centre back Dave Chadwick lurking with intent at the back post and while the popular defender’s initial effort hit the post, he made no mistake second time round to register his first goal since his return to Church Lane.

Both goalkeepers ensured that there were no further additions to the scoreline as James Coates and Woodhead matched each other with excellent saves, denying Mansaram and Leon Grandison respectively.

New Mills: Coates, Bowler, Moss, Swirad, Chadwick, Innes (Field), Meakin, Douglas-Pringle (Lonsdale), Deegan (Pickering), Grandison, Horrocks. Unused subs: Barras, Edridge. Att: 161.