Evans (9-26) rips through the Chapel batting line-up

Chapel v Charlsworth batting for Charlsworth Mike Fitzgerald and Nick Bennett
Chapel v Charlsworth batting for Charlsworth Mike Fitzgerald and Nick Bennett

Reigning PS Derbyshire and Cheshire League Division One champions Dinting continued their 100 per cent start to the season with a comfortable victory over Old Glossop.

Batting first, Glossop posted 170-8, Jono Coleman taking 3-70. Dinting then raced to 174-1 thanks to Greg Harwick (82) and Adam Wilson (82 not out).

Chapel v Charlsworth bowling for Chapel M Wagstaff

Chapel v Charlsworth bowling for Chapel M Wagstaff

Winless Hazel Grove made the trip to Hayfield and made 231-5, thanks to 75 from Geoff Noden and 73 from Andy Thurston. In reply, Russ Evans made 48 and Josh Unsworth 50, but 4-77 from Andy Rodgers and 5-89 from Ryan Hayward saw Hayfield dismissed for 198.

Dove Holes travelled to Broadbottom and were all out for 119, after being put into bat. Jay Riley (3-24) and Chris Cheetham-Roberts (4-21) did the damage with the ball.

In reply, Phil Rowston finished on 38 not out and Jay Riley scored 44 as the home side reached 126-6, with S Critchlow taking 4-21.

New Mills crumbled to 57 all out at home to Hawk Green, Elliott Young taking 5-13 and Mark Richards 4-6. Sam Messih then made an unbeaten 45 as Hawk Green raced to 58-1 in reply.

Buxton v Newton P Hammond or J Maiden Batting for Newton

Buxton v Newton P Hammond or J Maiden Batting for Newton

Tintwistle amassed 226-8 at home to Birch Vale, D Weatherhead making 73 and K Davies 32 as P Trueman took 3-41 and Steve Burns 4-34. Tom McIlvenney (47) offered some resistance, but 6-47 from P Higginbottom and 4-41 from Martin Harris saw Hayfield bowled out for just 101.

Mottram batted first at home to Compstall and made 205-7, with 95 from Stefan Fielden as D Heginbotham took 3-29. S Jackson then made 59 and Heginbotham 50 for the visitors, but 7-46 from Liam Wright saw Compstall bowled out for 196.

Newton batted first at Buxton in Division Two and finished on 155-9, Phil Hammond top-scoring with 43 while Nick Smith took 7-60. Ben Marsden then made 54 for the home side as they reached victory on 158-7, despite 4-47 from J Cragg.

Charlesworth were asked to take first knock at Chapel-en-le-Frith and were soon dismissed for just 98, M Fitzgerald top-scoring with 38 as J Hawtin took 6-36. It proved to be enough however as Gareth Evans ripped through the home side taking an incredible 9-26 as Chapel fell to 87 all out.

Buxton v Newton Mark Hill bowling for Buxton

Buxton v Newton Mark Hill bowling for Buxton

High Lane batted first at home to Hadfield and were blown away by Cam Ball (3-10) and Jamie Squires (5-7) as they made just 47 all out. The visitors secured a seven-wicket win as they finished on 48-3.

Hollingworth batted first at home to Whaley Bridge, and had 37 from Tom Conway to thank for their total of 93 all out, C McIlveen taking 4-15 and N Mohammed 4-26. Whaley Bridge finished on 95-3 in reply.

Woodley won the toss and elected to bat at home to Buxworth, going on to make 183 all out as Danny Kay made 35, D Oldland 30 and Gary Picken 31, with Dan Gilbride taking 3-31 and Joe Hall 3-38 for the visitors. I Fairly then made 51 in reply, but 4-23 from Jack Trowsdale saw Buxworth struggle to 127 all out.

In Division Three, Woodley batted first at Dove Holes making 150-8, S Richards with 59 and P Goodhall 31 while Kevin Waterhouse took 3-59.

In a thrilling run chase Dove Holes finished agonisingly short on 147-9 as P Harris took 4-34.

Tintwistle made 154-7 after being asked to bat first by hosts Hadfield, M Lilley making 39 and R Barrow 55. K Nield then took 5-47 as Hadfield were bowled out for just 91.

Hawk Green batted first at home to New Mills and made 178-5, S Clarke scoring 51 while B Ringrow hit 30 and Murray Hill 30. New Mills were then bowled out for just 78 as Jack Needham took 4-20.

Hazel Grove were asked to bat first by visitors Hayfield and went on to make 152-7. Luke Bennett then continued his fine form by taking 7-34, with wicketkeeper Lee Sykes claiming five victims, as Hayfield struggled to 69 all out.

Newton entertained Mottram and were soon all out for 25 as A Isaac took 4-14 and H Moore 4-4. Mottram lost just one wicket as they made 26-1 to secure victory.

Old Glossop batted first at home to league leaders Dinting and made 183-8, J Sagar with 63 and K Mitchell unbeaten on 38, while S Garlick took 4-52 and Darren Morrison 4-42.

P Bridge then hit an unbeaten 37 for the visitors, but 6-69 from Ivan Twist ensured Old Glossop dismissed Dinting for 146.

Buxworth batted first at home to Broadbottom in Division Four and were soon all out for 98, I Walker top-scoring with 41 as G Whitney took 4-31 and Seb Croft 6-11. J Lamb then took 3-19 for the home side, but Broadbottom eventually reached 100-7 to leave them top of the league.

Charlesworth won the toss and asked visitors Chapel-en-le-Frith to bat first, who could only make 61 all out, S Marren taking 4-17 from 18 overs and C Martin 3-9. Charlesworth then made 62-2 to secure victory.

Buxton travelled to Comstall and were asked to bat first, finishing on 171-9, D Belfield making 39 and Tim Budd 40 as Jarrod Ince took 3-46. In reply, Compstall were dismissed for 113.

Hollingworth batted first at Whaley Bridge, making 136 all out, JJ Goldfinch taking 5-28. A Bailey then hit 56 not out and Mike Madden 32 as Whaley Bridge finished on 137-7.