Young politicians of the future

The High Peak Kids Council in session
The High Peak Kids Council in session

Pupils at ten High Peak schools have been having a say on the issues that matter to them.

Children at New Mills Secondary School, New Mills Primary School, Hague Bar Primary School, St Mary’s Primary in New Mills, Buxworth Primary School, St George’s Primary School in New Mills, Hayfield Primary School, Thornsett Primary School, Newtown Primary School and Furness Vale Primary School have formed the High Peak Kids Council.

Two year six and seven pupils from each school sit on the council, which meets six times a year at New Mills Town Hall. The children plan the agenda themselves, take minutes and organise events.

They have been given a £50 donation from New Mills Town Council to get them started.