Quality takes the centre stage

sp91749 Hope Show. Georgia Frost of Brough with her entries in the new laid egg section.
sp91749 Hope Show. Georgia Frost of Brough with her entries in the new laid egg section.

A day of quality entertainment and agricultural exhibits kept the crowds happy despite the rain at Hope Show on Monday.

Peter Hayes, Treasurer, said: “The weather may have affected takings from last year, but the important thing was that the sections I talked to later in the day were very up-beat about the attendance and quality of entrants in their sections. Sponsorship was up, helped by the work of Maeve Serby, and Secretary Ginny Priestly recruited more members of the Show on the day.”

He added, “The positive message is quality and entertainment, despite the lower attendance.”

Andrew Bettney, of Tideswell Welding Services, impressed the crowd by leading a parade of 67 tractors with a giant World War II Caterpillar D8 Tractor in the livery of the 79th Armoured Division (Dozer Squadron) of the U S Army and a LeTourneau Carryall LS 11 Scraper Box towed behind.

Tractor awards:

House of Anton Challenge Cup – Overall Winner – Steve Higginson. Ford County Super six with Ransomes TS90 Plough; 2nd Ian Hudson - Fordson Standard Model N; 3rd Georgina Hodgson - John Deere 1020; 4th Charles Halliday -. David Brown 990; 5th Philip Hurt -David Brown 900J Livedrive

Bywater Trophy – Best Ferguson T20 Colin Lawton. Ferguson Special Award – Max Owram. Best Pre 1945 - Allan Steeples. Oldest Tractor - Malcolm Sowerby. Stationary Engines – Hope Valley Round Table Cup. John Hallam.


Working Hunter Pony:- Finn Healey from Bamford; Working Hunter :- Michelle Fox, Curbar; Ridden Hunter:- Elaine Hill, Calver; Young Handler Champion:- Sophie Judge, Castleton; Lead Rein Pony:- Georgia Hutchinson, Hesketh Bank, Preston; First Ridden Pony:- Maddison Boswell, Balborough, Chesterfield; Welsh Mountain Pony winners:- Sarah Noble, Tideswell, Rebecca Denniff, Rotherham, John Elliott, Bamford, Hannah Parr, Mansfield, Janet Baigent Shatton, Alice Priestley, Bamford,

Hayley  Reynolds, Ashbourne. Ridden Spotted/Coloured:- Kate Hemsley, Ashford in the Water. Coloured Horse Champion:- Amy Finney, Over Haddon. Champion Shire Horse:- Philip Moss, Congleton. Farmers Turnout:- Mr WynneHull, Blackpool; Shire Trade Turnout:- Waterside Developments, Mr Andrew Cook. Local Showjumping class winners:- Megan Hudson, Tideswell & Tara O’Rourke, Birchover; Anna Wain, Bradwell; Alice Serby, Castleton.

British Showjumping Affiliated class winners:- Mark Braithwaite, Curbar; Aison Garner, Sheffield; Sophie Harvey, Castleton; Alex Dunning, Rainow; Daniel Carroll, Disley.

Gymkhana winners - Finn Healey, Bamford; Bobbie Hallam, Edale; Alice Priestley, Bamford; Janet Hallam, Edale.