Election day in the High Peak

editorial image

High Peak voters go to the polls today (Thursday) to choose their new county councillors.

All 64 seats on Derbyshire County Council are up for grabs with locals choosing their representatives for the Buxton West, Buxton North and East, New Mills, Chapel and Hope Valley and Whaley Bridge wards.

Polling stations will be open until 10pm tonight. The results will be announced tomorrow (Friday). The High Peak candidates are:

• Buxton North and East - Margaret Florence Appleby - UKIP; Caitlin Janette Bisknell - Labour; Pam Reddy - Conservative; Graham Scott - Lib Dem.

• Buxton West - Matthew Alexander Bain - Green Party; Tony Arthur Kemp - Conservative; Bob Morris - Independent; Fiona Sloman - Labour; Christopher Richard Warhurst Weaver - Lib Dem.

• Chapel and Hope Valley - Charlotte Nancy Farrell - Green Party; Ian Guiver - UKIP; Brian Colin Hallsworth - Lib Dem; Tim Norton - Labour; Jocelyn Sarah Street - Conservative.

• New Mills - Beth Atkins - Lib Dem; Alan Barrow - Labour; Jeff Lawton - Conservative; Dee Sayce - Green Party.

• Whaley Bridge - James Henry Bush - UKIP; Rodney Bruce Gilmour - Conservative; David William Lomax - Liberal Democrat Focus Team; Martin Lindsay Thomas - Labour.