Peak Park Authority welcomes new blood

THE Peak District National Park Authority has welcomed several new members to its governing body.

Two were appointed by the Defra (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs) Secretary of State, one elected by parish councils, and four appointed by the national park’s district, county or city councils following changes within their organisations.

One of the two new Secretary of State members is Edale farmer Robert Helliwell. Robert is a former Derbyshire NFU chairman and a member of the Land Managers Forum.

He said: “There are many challenges facing Park land managers, so let’s hope I can do my bit to make that management easier and give greater benefit to the national park.”

The newly appointed parish member is Cllr Christopher Carr, a farmer and chair of Tissington Parish Council. Cllr Carr previously served on the Authority from 2007 to 2011.

The members appointed by councils includes Cllr Barrie Taylor, who has been re-appointed to the Authority by Derbyshire County Council after a gap of five years. Living in Whaley Bridge, his special interests are wildlife and the environment.

In addition, Secretary of State member Geoff Nickolds has had his appointment extended by three years. Mr Nickolds is deputy chair of the Authority, chair of the Moors for the Future Partnership and a former conservation, access and recreation manager for Severn Trent Water.

The Authority has 30 members, made up of 16 local councillors, six parish representatives, and eight Defra appointees, taking strategic responsibility for planning, conservation, recreation, access and resources in the national park.

All members receive an allowance of £1,698 per year and basic meal and travel expenses. Chairs and vice-chairs of committees also receive a special responsibility allowance ranging from 50 per cent to 300 per cent of the basic allowance.