Teenagers to help county make choices

FOUR High Peak youngsters are among the new Derbyshire Youth Council members.

Angus Priestley from Hope Valley College, Naomi Tilson from Buxton Community School, Martyn Bonham from Chapel-en-le-Frith High School and Samantha Hayes from New Mills School have all been elected onto the Youth Council for the next two years.

More than 26,000 youngsters cast their votes in the elections to choose from 210 candidates across the county.

Nineteen youth council members will now be elected onto the youth council cabinet, with two members from each of the eight districts.

Cabinet members will be decided at the first meeting of the new youth council on April 28.