Awards bring curtain down on fantastic Fringe festival

editorial image

A successful Buxton Fringe concluded on Sunday, July 24, with the festival awards ceremony at the Old Clubhouse.

Fringe chairman Keith Savage thanked performers and supporters, including headline sponsor The University of Derby and a growing band of Fringe Friends.

He made particular reference to Underground Venues, which started in the basement of The Old Hall Hotel in 2006 but is marking its final year there following the redevelopment of The Crescent.

The search is on for a new home for 2017, but Keith said the committee wished to give the organisers a special award for: “making the fringe a much bigger and more prestigious event, and for bringing people to Buxton who might otherwise not have come.”

In regular categories, the theatre production award went to the one-man show Waiting Room by All Things Considered. The acting awards went to Daniel Holme for Skin of the Teeth and Helen Rutter for Human.

The new writing award went to David Holmes and Kieran O’Rourke for their work on The Communist Threat, while the coveted John Beecher award for challenging theatre went to Raving Mask for The Conductor.

Buxton Community School student Eleanor Hibbert swept the board with young theatre awards for production, acting and writing on her show Dolly’s Playlist.

Other winners included Buxton Drama League’s The Shakespeare Jukebox; Buxton Museum’s Meet the Experts event; Buxton Film’s Media Archive for Central England screenings; and artists Adrienne and Langley Brown, for best visual arts event.

In the music section, awards went to Macclesfield ensemble Egriega; Cheshire Chamber Collective; Manchester harpist Alice Kirwan; and Opera Seria for the group’s performance of Don Giovanni.

Comedy prizes went to the Kagools, Charles Adrian and Samantha Mann’s You Bring the Agony, I Bring the Aunt.

Buxton trombonist Sam Slide was honoured with a special Spirit of the Festival award.

The full list of winners and nominees is available at