New Buxton Opera House line-up unveiled

Ross Noble
Ross Noble

Well-known faces from the world of drama, music and comedy feature in the new season at Buxton Opera House and the Pavilion Arts Centre.

The September 2014 to January 2015 line-up has been unveiled, and features a host of sparkling events for all the family.

Among the big name comedians to grace the stage will be Dawn French, making a return visit on November 27, while Ross Noble brings his new show Tangentlemen on Friday November 21. Jonathan Creek and QI star Alan Davies also returns on Friday October 31.

Young people can exercise their funny bones too, with a comedy afternoon especially for them with Comedy Club 4 Kids on Sunday October 26.

In the drama stakes, Barry Manilow’s Grammy award-winning musical Copacabana will arrive on Wednesday October 15 until Saturday October 18.

A Norfolk vicarage on Christmas Eve 1947 will be the setting for The Holly & The Ivy from Monday November 24 to Wednesday November 26, while Emily Bronte’s classic love story set on the Yorkshire Moors, Wuthering Heights, arrives in Buxton on Thursday September 4.

Also in September, there’s the edge-of-your-seat thriller Double Death, and Peter James’ The Perfect Murder, a highly entertaining, dark comedy thriller with a star-studded cast.

There’s plenty for children and the whole family to enjoy. Peppa Pig’s Big Splash returns over the weekend of September 13 and 14, and little ones can join in a telling of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Snow Queen on Monday October 27.

Half term festival fun will be provided in the shape of OctoberFest from Monday October 27 to Friday October 31.

Moscow State Ballet will stir the imagination with The Nutcracker on Wednesday November 19, and the timeless story of Beauty and the Beast will be performed by Ballet Cymru on Wednesday October 22.

A fantastic selection of music shows includes 10cc (Thursday October 23), triple folk award-winners Show of Hands (Friday October 24) and Les McKeown and his Legendary Bay City Rollers (Wednesday October 8).

Other musical events include English Touring Opera with a double bill Ottone on Friday November 7 and Life on the Moon on Saturday November 8, followed later the same month by The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain, Julia Fordham Porcelain 25, and Elio Pace performing the Billy Joel Songbook.

Tickets are available in person from the Buxton Opera House Box Office, or online at www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk.