Get your skates on to be a part of Easterfest

0
Have your say

Buxton Opera House is offering a super-dooper programme of events during the Easter holidays.

Performances and workshops for toddlers up to 13-year-olds and their families will take place during Easterfest, which runs from Sunday March 23 until Sunday April 21.

The Pavilion Arts Centre will host most of the drama events, kicking off on March 23 with the fun production Mavis Sparkle, which uncovers the magic of the universe using illusion, animation and laughter.

Robin Hood on Monday April 1 features live music and puppetry, providing an exhilarating interpretation of the much-loved story of the outlaw Robin and his merry men; and Bringing Down The Moon on Saturday April 6 will bring to stage the cute tale of a mole who wants to pull the moon down to earth, but soon finds that some things are not as easy as they seem.

Young people can settle down and get cosy for The Brothers Grimm on Tuesday April 9, a drama full of the most enchanted fairy tales; and Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive The Bus on Thursday April 11 encourages little ones to make some noise for a lively show about a cheeky pigeon, who in the absence of a driver is determined drive the bus.

Stories in the Forest on Friday April 12 uses physical comedy, spontaneity and participation to tell tales of mayhem at Cherry Tree Farm; and James Campbell’s Comedy 4 Kids on Saturday April 13 gives young people an opportunity to experience their very own stand-up comedy.

The Opera House will host two productions: a beautiful adaptation of Kenneth Grahame’s tale of the River Bank The Wind In The Willows on Sunday April 14; and celebrate the birthday of everyone’s favourite puppy with Spot’s Birthday Party on Sunday April 21.

Easterfest also includes a series of fun and creative workshops running between Tuesday April 2 and Wednesday April 10, featuring everything from craft making, painting and story writing to dressing–up and acting.

Among the highlights will be a Roller Rave on Friday April 5, where participants can borrow skates and roller to live DJ music, while sipping a ‘mocktail’ and eating some sweets.

Further information on Easterfest is available by calling 0845 127 2190 or visit www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk