Awards mark success of Fringe 2012

Fringe chair Stephanie Billen with Ashlea Kaye, from Romeo & Juliet. Photo: Ian J. Parkes.
Fringe chair Stephanie Billen with Ashlea Kaye, from Romeo & Juliet. Photo: Ian J. Parkes.
Have your say

THE CURTAIN came down on a successful Buxton Festival Fringe 2012 with the annual awards ceremony at the Devonshire Dome.

In the hotly-contested Theatre category the production award went to the ambitious and innovative all-female Romeo and Juliet from Smooth Faced Gentlemen and Three’s Company. Acting awards went to Freddie Machin for Winston on the Run and Katie Robinson for Forwards and Backwards, while Michael Hart picked up the new writing accolade for the thought-provoking Afterwords.

Former Fringe chair John Wilson with newcomer artist award-winner, Helen Mint. Photo: Ian J. Parkes.

Former Fringe chair John Wilson with newcomer artist award-winner, Helen Mint. Photo: Ian J. Parkes.

The big winner of the day was in youth theatre where The Bald Prima Donna swept the boards with male and female actor nods for Jake Martin and Gabby Monaghan as well as the production award for AQ Youth Theatre.

The wealth of musical talent on offer was recognised in four awards; the delightful Lili La Scala was given the solo vocal award for Songs to make you Smile; Benjamin Powell won solo instrumentalist for his Brahms piece with High Peak Orchestra; Partita’s Early Music Concerts scooped the small ensemble award; and the Sheffield Lydian Ensemble were rewarded with the large ensemble prize.

Local winners predominated in Visual Arts. The Buxton Art Trail was given the event prize, while the artist award went to Jenny Davies and a newcomer award to Helen Mint.

Other rewarded Buxtonians include Three’s Company in Other Events for their podcast, Buxton Drama League (Street Theatre) and Buxton Film’s Open Shorts (Film).

Comedy awards went to top notch performers Helen Arney (individual) and, for the second year running, Max and Ivan (show).

Another second time winner and the award that will travel the furthest was in dance, where Japan’s Makoto Inoue won for Dojo-Ji.

Vicky Ellis’ Unconventional Attitudes took the Spoken Word honours, Little Giant prevailed in For Families with Going for Gold, and Sarah-Ann Cromwell was named Spirit of the Fringe for her Diva Gigs show bringing opera to new spaces.

Fringe Chair Stephanie Billen said: “We appreciate the effort, talent and dedication that everyone has put into their shows, and are grateful to them for making this such a successful Fringe.”

Fringe Awards 2012



Max and Ivan are... Con Artists (Max and Ivan) AWARD

Lights! Camera! Improvise! (The Scat Pack)

The TinaMarinas: Being Gorgeous (The TinaMarinas)


Andrew O’Neill (Andrew O’Neill is Easily Distracted)

Ed Eales-White (Champions)

Helen Arney (Helen Arney: Voice of an Angle) AWARD

Joe Fairbrother (Joe Fairbrother: O Fairbrother Where Art Thou?)

Juliet Meyers (Juliet Meyers: Raised by Fridge Magnets)

Rob Heeney (Rob Heeney In Vincible)


Buxton Day of Dance (Chapel-en-le-Frith Morris Men)

Dojo-Ji (Makoto Inoue Ind.) AWARD


Open Shorts 2012 (Buxton Film) AWARD

For Families

Going for Gold (little GIANT) AWARD

Treasure Island (Uncontained Arts)


Solo Vocal

Sarah-Ann Cromwell (Diva Gigs: A Week in the Life of a Diva)

Margaret Ferguson (An Evening with Africa’s Lady of Song)

Melody La Rouge (Kiss of the Red Menace: a Tribute to Kander & Ebb)

Lili La Scala (Songs to Make You Smile) AWARD

Solo Instrumental

Benjamin Powell (High Peak Orchestra - for Brahms piece) AWARD

James Pelham (Pictures in Music)

Emlyn Vaughan (Stop Motion Trio)

Small Ensemble

Deconet String Quartet (12 Strings and a Double Reed)

The Ryebank Trio (Chamber Music Concert)

The Exchange Orchestra (Monk Lives!)

Sovereign Saxophone Octet (More Pieces For Eight)

Partita (Partita - Early Music Concerts) AWARD

Selfmade Music (Music of the Heart)

Aron Kyne, Matt Davies & Emlyn Vaughan (Stop Motion Trio)

Hat Fitz and Cara (Wiley Ways Album Launch)

The Williams Boys (The Wit and Wisdom of the Williams Boys)

Large Ensemble

Ordsall Singers (Acapella and Cake)

Tideswell Male Voice Choir (Tideswell Male Voice Choir in Concert)

City of Manchester Opera (The Bartered Bride)

Derby A Cappella Chorus (Derby A Cappella Chorus - Four-part Harmony)

Derbyshire City and County Youth Orchestra (Summer Residential Course Concert)

Sheffield Lydian Ensemble (Humour in Harmony) AWARD

Spoken Word

Edith’s Story (Scrivener’s Books & Bookbinding)

Prufrock’s World (John Rainer)

Quartet a Tete (Edmund Bealby-Wright)

Unconventional Attitudes (Vicky Ellis) AWARD

Street Theatre

The Shakespeare Jukebox (Buxton Drama League) AWARD



Bobby (Just Add Water Theatre Company)

Dev’s Army (Elysion Productions)

Einstein’s Daughter (Freerange Theatre Company)

End To End (The Gramophones Theatre Company)

Forwards and Backwards (Square Peg Theatre)

Kafka in the Sink (A Rebours Theatre Company)

A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Butterfly)

The Overcoat (Le Mot Juste)

Romeo &Juliet: An All-Female Production (Three’s Company & Smooth Faced Gentlemen) AWARD

Scallywags (SOOP)

Winston on the Run (Fol Espoir)

Young Theatre

The Bald Prima Donna (AQ Youth Theatre) AWARD

Actor (Male)

Richard Sails (Dev’s Army)

George Telfer (Do You Still Throw Spears)

Matthew Hattersley (Kafka in the Sink)

Freddie Machin (Winston on the Run) AWARD

Actor (Female)

Amy Forest (Going for Gold)

Amy Spencer (Einstein’s Daughter)

Katie Robinson (Forwards and Backwards) AWARD

Fran Binefa (Romeo & Juliet)

Young Actor (Male)

James Chetwood (The Chronicles of Arnica)

Jake Martin (The Bald Prima Donna) AWARD

Paul Newby (Punk Rock)

Young Actor (Female)

Gabby Monaghan (The Bald Prima Donna) AWARD

Ioana Voisei (Punk Rock)

Lauren Turner (Nine)

Visual Arts


Buxton Art Trail 2012 (Buxton Art Trail) AWARD

The Derbyshire Open 2012 (Buxton Museum and Art Gallery)

The Great Dome Art Fair (Peak District Artisans)


Jenny Davies (Derbyshire Open, BAT) AWARD

Helen Mint (Buxton Art Trail) NEWCOMER AWARD

Steve Elliott (Great Dome Art Fair)

John Delinikajtis (2012 Art Exhibition, BAT)

Kate Aimson (Delving the Depths)

Les Tickle (Derbyshire Open)

Andy Phillips (Great Dome Art Fair)

Alison Counsell (Great Dome Art Fair)

Other events

Adventure Time - The Podcast (Three’s Company) AWARD

Buxton Military Tattoo (ABF The Soldiers’ Charity)

An Evening of Close Up Magic (High Peak Magicians Society)

New Writing

Vicky Ellis (Unconventional Attitudes)

Tam Hinton (And All These Sleepless Nights Will Explode Tomorrow)

Michael Hart (Afterwords) AWARD

Rob Johnston (Einstein’s Daughter)

Gramophones Theatre (End to End)

Lilly Posnett (The Last Night of Olivia Delaware: Starstruck)

J J Fletcher (Shadow On Their Wall)

Freddie Machin (Winston On The Run)

Spirit of the Fringe

Will Hawthorne (Will Hawthorne’s Killer Bees)

Club Acoustic (Local Singers & Musicians)

Sarah-Ann Cromwell (Diva Gigs: A Week in the Life of a Diva) AWARD

Fiona Paul (Excuse Me I’m Trying to Please You)