A bumper programme in store for new season

Yes Prime Minister Simkins & Seed
Yes Prime Minister Simkins & Seed
0
Have your say

Buxton Opera House’s new spring What’s On brochure is now out on shelves with a host of exciting events sure to cater for everyone’s tastes.

As always there is a large selection of comedians – sure to soothe New Year troubles away. Chris Addison will perform his show The Time is Now on Sunday February 12, proving he is one of the classiest, toppiest stand-ups around.

Chris Addison

Chris Addison

One of the industries best known and distinctive comedians, Reginald D Hunter, will perform his show Sometimes Even The Devil Tells The Truth on Thursday March 1.

Other comedians during the new season include Stewart Lee – Carpet Remnant World on Tuesday March 6, Pam Ayres on Sunday April 1, Paul Merton on Monday May 7, Jon Richardson on Sunday May 13 and Rich Hall on Sunday May 27.

Drama during the new season will include a return of Ian Dickens Productions with Death By Fatal Murder from Thursday January 12 to Saturday January 14.

The decadent world of 18th century society will be brought to life in a theatre adaptation of Sense & Sensibility on Tuesday January 31, and one of Shakespeare’s most popular plays, Macbeth, will take place on Wednesday February 8 and Thursday February 9.

Buxton Opera House new season brochure

Buxton Opera House new season brochure

The venue’s flagship drama production during the new season will be Yes Prime Minister, fresh from a sell-out West End tour, at the Opera House from Tuesday March 13 to Saturday March 17.

Other drama productions include Our Country’s Good (Monday March 19), Treasure Island (Monday April 9), The Hormonal House Wives (Tuesday April 10), The Hounds of The Baskervilles (Thursday May 17 to Saturday May 19) and Gulliver’s Travels (Monday June 11 to Tuesday June 12).

Children and family shows include the spectacular Moscow State Circus (Friday January 20 to Sunday January 22) incorporating acrobats, clowns and lots of fun! The enchanting classic children’s show, The Secret Garden will take place on Sunday February 5.

Other family and kids events include Sesame Street Live – Elmo Makes Music (Sunday April 1), The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Saturday April 14), The Tiger Who Came To Tea (Saturday April 21 and Sunday April 22), Science Museum Live On Stage! (Wednesday May 2) and Fireman Sam – Pontypandy Rocks! (Sunday May 13).

Spring sees the return of the Buxton Festival of Live Music – Four Four Time 2012 from Saturday February 18 to Saturday February 25 with performances from Echo & The Bunnymen (Saturday February 18), The Lightning Seeds (Monday February 20) and Joy Division’s Peter Hook and his band - The Light will perform the entire Joy Division album Unknown Pleasures (Saturday February 25).

If you can’t make the Four Four Time Festival there is still plenty to look forward to in the new season including a bit of Madness when Suggs performs his show My Life Story in Words and Music on Monday February 6. And the Opera House will celebrate the Diamond Jubilee with a special Last Night of The Proms Concert on Saturday June 2.

Opera during the new season will include the English Touring Opera with a double bill featuring The Barber of Seville (Thursday April 26 and Saturday April 28) and Eugene Onegin (Friday April 27). Ballet will include a triple bill from The Russian State Ballet of Siberia: Giselle (Friday March 2), Swan Lake (Saturday March 3) and La Fille Mal Gardee (Sunday March 4).

Dance during the next season will include a glittering evening from Strictly Come Dancing stars Katya Virshilas and Pasha Kovalev on Sunday April 29. And the Opera House will look like a ice rink when the Magical Extravaganza On Ice arrives on Friday May 11 and Saturday May 12.

Other events will include Sally Morgan (Tuesday May 8), Stephen Venables will provide a lecture: The Legend of Eric Shipton on Saturday February 11 and Gilbert O’Sullivan will perform A Singer and His Songs on Wednesday March 28.

The brochure, which runs until July, is available at the Box Office. Call 0845 127 2190 or visit www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk.