Huge turnout for annual golf week

Have your say

CAVENDISH Golf Club was host to nearly 800 golfers in their annual Open Week.

The event took place between Monday July 30 and Sunday August 5, with prizes down to tenth place in many of the events.

Last Monday’s Gent’s Am-Am Medal was won by a home team of K Bloor, M Forder, C Martin and M McDonald with an 11-under score of 125.

Runners-up were R Forder, P Major (Cavendish), A Carruthers (Beeston Fields) and J Spencer (Blue Circle) with 126, ahead of J Lomas, M Lomas, S Bailey (Cavendish) and P Smith (Buxton & High Peak) with 128.

The first three places in the Mixed Seniors Betterball went to visitors J & T Dauber (Ashton-under-Lyne) with 44 points, ahead of T & A Cregan (41) and D Slingsby and A Saunders (41).

M Wain and E Wright (Cavendish) won the Seniors Stableford with 44 points after countback from A Webster and P Witcombe (Cavendish), with T Ashley and N Oates (Alfreton) on 42.

A well-contested Ladies Open 4AM was won by a team from Hallamshire with a score of 87 points.

In the Junior Open, A Willis (Tapton) was the victor with 38 points from M Lomas (Cavendish) with 37 points and B Austin (Stafford Castle) with 37.

Arguably, the most prestigious event of the week was Friday’s 36-hole Palace Trophy and Chatsworth Bowl.

The Palace Trophy for the best gross score was won once again in phenomenal style by plus-two golfer Mark Gayes (Westwood) with a brilliant score of 64+64=128, making him now a plus-three golfer.

Second place was taken by Cavendish Junior Captain George Bloor (69+68=137), from Crewe’s Rob Reid (67+70=137).

The Chatsworth Bowl for the best net score went to Cavendish’s Matt Dickinson (68+64=132) ahead of Nigel Furness from Matlock (67+66=133) and Ian Mathers from Tytherington (68+68=136).

A huge field played for the Axe Edge Trophy and this was won by the Cavendish pairing of B Minshull and R Lee (44 points), from Cavendish’s J Watson and A Craig (42) and the Wolstanton/Westwood pairing of I Stanley and P Cook (42).

Results from the July Medal - Division One: 1st, N Barton, 75-8=67; 2nd, M Higgins, 71-4=67; 3rd, A Dean, 77-10=67. Division Two: 1st, P Witcombe, 78-13=65; 2nd, A Oldfield, 81-15=66; 3rd, B Holmes, 80-13=67. Division Three: 1st, M Stephens, 83-19=64; 2nd, S Goldstraw, 87-22=65; 3rd, J May, 90-23=67.

Junior captain George Bloor recorded the best gross score of 69.