Town hand out annual club awards

HOPE Valley League Premier Division side Buxton Town held its annual presentation evening on Saturday.

Manager Andy Wood congratulated his players for their efforts over the course of the season, which had seen them finish runners-up in the league, reach two cup finals and the semi-final of the Derbyshire Cup.

Local referee Chris Large presented the trophies, which saw Jack Grindey, the club’s top scorer, awarded the Players’ Player of the Year for the second year running.

The Manager’s Player of the Year trophy went to Jack Gregory, while Zak Heywood was named Young Player of the Year. Heywood also collected the Goal of the Season award for his superb strike against Tintwistle. The Most Improved Player Award, voted for by the players, was won by Matt Clark. Ryan Haworth was named Clubman of the Year, the shield for the player with the most man of the matches was won by Colin Moss, and this year’s Supporter of the Year trophy was picked up by Mickey Haworth.

Special Achievement awards were handed out to Mark Balfe and Mark Harris, who have both made their 200th appearances for the club.

Buxton Town now turn their attention to next season and will return to pre-season training on Wednesday July 13 with a number of friendlies already arranged. New players are welcome to attend.