Meakin adds 20 to Millers’ plenty

Action from New Mills v Rainworth MW. Photo: Allan Toft.
Action from New Mills v Rainworth MW. Photo: Allan Toft.
Have your say

Evo-Stik Division One South: New Mills 3, Rainworth Miners Welfare 2........

NEW MILLS extended their unbeaten sequence to seven games as they defeated a resilient Rainworth Miners Welfare in a highly-entertaining contest at Church Lane.

Skipper Carlos Meakin gave The Millers the lead in the tenth minute from the penalty spot after Lee Cooksey unceremoniously barged Ben Deegan over as the striker went to challenge for Antony Field’s corner.

Rainworth, buoyed by their impressive midweek 5-1 victory at Coalville, equalised just after the half hour.

Deegan this time gave possession away cheaply just inside his own half and winger Nathan Adams capitalised on the error by driving at the home defence and his low centre was neatly finished by Niall O’Rafferty at the back post.

It looked like the sides would go in level but Meakin restored the home side’s advantage a minute before the interval when he nipped in front of keeper Alessandro Barcherini to convert Field’s cross to register the significant personal milestone of scoring his 20th NPL goal of the season.

Rainworth, who have improved dramatically since two early season defeats to The Millers, probably thought they didn’t deserve to be behind at the break but they gained parity nine minutes into the second half when New Mills’ defence stood off Ryan Goward who advanced a significant distance before the full back delivered a measured effort over James Coates.

Results certainly outweigh performances at the business end of the season and The Millers grabbed the vital three points 20 minutes from time to ensure that the late charge for the play-offs continued to gather momentum.

Rainworth keeper Barcherini failed to claim James Moss’ set-piece and Leon Grandison splendidly returned the ball over the stranded keeper into the top corner to ensure the team secured a sixth consecutive victory at Church Lane.

New Mills: Coates, Bowler, Moss, Swirad, Chadwick, Lonsdale, Meakin, Field (Needham), Deegan, Grandison (Edridge), Horrocks. Unused subs: Pickering, Douglas-Pringle, Benson. Att: 211.