Club honours for stars

Mark Reed with award. Photo contributed.
Mark Reed with award. Photo contributed.
Have your say

OVER 200 guests attended Buxton Football Club’s End of Season Dinner at the Devonshire Dome.

Attending the event along with Buxton FC supporters were club officials, players and management from both the first team and the under-19s, as well as many local business people.

Danny Hopkins receives his award. Photo contributed.

Danny Hopkins receives his award. Photo contributed.

Dave Bradbury, manager of the U19s, presented his team with various awards. Winners of the under-19s awards were Player’s Player Zak Heywood, Manager’s Player Jonny Swain and Leading Goalscorer Danny Hopkins.

Presenting the First Team awards were club chairman Tony Tomlinson and manager Martin McIntosh, who commented: “This evening has proved to be a fantastic way of allowing our players and supporters to celebrate together with a wonderful dinner in such a beautiful venue.”

Tommy Agus, Scott Hartley, Michael Towey and Mark Reed were all honoured for their fantastic commitment to Buxton FC in accumulating more than 300 appearances for the club.

Josh Wilde was crowned Players’ Player of the Year, Mark Reed picked up the award for top goalscorer and Bradley Barraclough picked up the Supporters’ Player of the Year award.

A specially-engraved decanter was also presented to Reed in recognition of his incredible achievement in surpassing 200 goals for The Bucks.

Chris Brindley was recognised for his ongoing great service for yet another year at the club.

He said: “Since Martin joined us we have won game after game to finish well placed in the league, and in our final fixture defeated Derby County FC to win the Derbyshire Senior Cup.

“This evening’s dinner has given all associated with the club a chance to get together and celebrate in some style.”

A fundraising auction of sporting lots helped contribute to the fantastic sum of over £5,000 which was raised on the night for the club.