Century helps Hayfield close the gap to leaders

Jonathan Duckworth of New Mills on his way to a match winning 113
Jonathan Duckworth of New Mills on his way to a match winning 113

JULIAN Burgess hit a match-winning 109 as Hayfield closed the gap to leaders Dinting to just eight points in Division One of the Peak Sports Derbyshire & Cheshire League on Saturday.

With Dinting stumbling to a second successive defeat, pursuers Hayfield picked up valuable points in the title race with a fine victory over third-placed Hawk Green.

Hadfield 2nds batting at Whaley Bridge

Hadfield 2nds batting at Whaley Bridge

Asked to bat first at Hayfield, Hawk Green posted 245-7 thanks to 82 not out from J Blackhurst and 49 from Sam Messih. But Burgess and G Wood (51 not out) saw Hayfield reach 246-6, Lee Hallas taking 4-61.

Tintwistle travelled to Dinting and posted an impressive 208-8, Martyn Knight making 81 and M Harris 33 as D Brightmore took 4-47. Dinting could only make 144 all out in reply, Adam Wilson top-scoring with 39 and P Higginbottom taking 5-47.

J Duckworth made 113 not out and S Mills 55 as New Mills posted 210-5 against winless Buxton, Nick Smith taking 4-49. Buxton then struggled to 114 all out, Bob Marsden making 48 as Dave Ward took 4-37.

Dove Holes posted a huge 257-8 batting first at Broadbottom, M Johnson making 44 and D Jones 48. D Walker then took 4-64 as Broadbottom were dismissed for 130, despite the best efforts of A Walsh (30) and Phil Rowston (31).

Chapel's Gary Pheasey on his way to 68 against Buxworth.

Chapel's Gary Pheasey on his way to 68 against Buxworth.

Newton won the toss at home to Birch Vale and, electing to bat, made 244-7 thanks to K Handford (43) and Mark Barnard (73). Tom McIlvenney made 66 in reply, but 4-78 from J Koria and 5-71 from A Grant saw Birch Vale bowled out for 191.

Old Glossop asked Hazel Grove to bat first and saw the hosts rack up 145-9 thanks Andy Oldfield (39) and Nick Hayward (53), while Andy King took 3-30 and Dec Hall 3-46. Old Glossop had no answer to T Jarvis (3-45) or Ian Hayward 7-28 as they were bowled out for just 78 in reply.

Whaley Bridge kept themselves in the hunt for promotion in Division Two with victory at Hadfield, thereby leapfrogging their opponents into third place. Winning the toss and batting first, Whaley made 253-8 before dismissing Hadfield.

Leaders Mottram were asked to bat by visitors Charlesworth and stumbled to 141-9, J Irons making 33 as D Wood took 3-37 and ex-Mottram player Phil Elliot 3-24. This proved enough as Charlesworth were bowled out for 124, Phil Elliot top-scoring with 38 as Mike Scott took 3-20, supported by A Burke (3-47) and S Grinstead (4-25).

Winning the toss and batting first, Woodley fell foul of Comsptall’s Sam Markovitch (3-28) and R Chew (3-26) as the visitors could only make 96 all out. David Bailey then hit 58 for Compstall as the home side reached 100-4 to move into second place in the table.

Chapel-en-le-Frith batted first at home to Buxworth and made 200-9, J Jackson scoring 61 and G Pheasy 68 while A Benstead took 5-47 for the home side. J Hall made 40 in reply but Buxworth finished on 142 all out.

Put into bat against Hollingworth, hosts High Lane made 175 all out thanks to Andy Queshi (91) and Habib Choudhury (31), with D Morris taking 5-55 and J Miller 3-32. In reply, Hollingworth fell short on 137-8, Mike Knight making 39 as Habib Choudhury took 4-26.

In Division Three, league leaders New Mills travelled to Woodley and could only 113, A Stevens making 64 as D Nelson took 7-37. Woodley lost only two wickets to reach 114, J Duggan hitting 71 not out to secure victory.

Hayfield closed the gap at the top to just a single point with victory at home to Hawk Green. Batting first, Hayfield made 238-6, O Kirton making 97 and J Coverly 46 while L Jeffs took 3-31. B Littler made 35 for Hawk Green, but 4-33 from O Kirton and 3-37 from A Ney ensured the visitors were dismissed for 189.

Old Glossop made 194 all out against High Lane, Paul Higginbottom making 35 and A Gerrard 32 as S Roscoe took 4-28 and Keith Tysall 3-29. S Roscoe then made 47 and Zunnur Choudhury 31, but 5-60 from Kevin Mitchell saw the visitors bowled out for 164.

Dinting were put into bat at Tintwistle and posted an impressive 210-8, A Worral making 47 as S Higginbottom took 4-63. Dinting then restricted their hosts to 153-6, R Barrow top-scoring with 49 and S Garlick taking 3-36.

S Fazackerly hit an unbeaten 72 and O Andrew scored 47 as Mottram made 208-4 at Dove Holes. The hosts then had no answer to H Moore (6-29) or N Kromnicki (4-29) as they were bowled out for 120.

Newton made 138 all out at Birch Vale, A Sharp taking 7-44. However 7-44 from S Batho meant Birch Vale could only reach 80 all out in their reply.

Compstall are the new leaders in Division Four after a comfortable win at Buxton. The hosts were made to regret their decision to bat first as Compstall’s J Abbott (6-14) and V Clarke (3-22) dismissed the side for just 64. J Atkin then made 41 not out as Compstall reached their target for the loss of one wicket.

Hazel Grove, who were knocked off top spot, travelled to Hollingworth and bowled the home side out for 120, A Tindell top-scoring with 38 as J Leech took 6-10. Hazel Grove were all out for 97 in reply, D Meredith taking 5-17 and P Morris 3-18.

Hadfield travelled to Whaley Bridge and could only make 95 all out despite an unbeaten 30 from Alex Ball as J Fiddler took 7-33. Whaley Bridge also struggled, but 40 from Stuart Milner saw the home side to victory for the loss of six wickets, J Hollingworth taking 5-36.

Buxworth batted first at home to Chapel-en-le-Frith and made 191 all out thanks to T Dodds (54) and A Reynolds (43) as J Theyer took 6-70. In a thrilling reply, Max Newiss made 72 and J Theyer 51, but D Bedworth took 4-73 to bowl Chapel out for 189 and register Buxworth’s first victory of 2012.

Charlesworth were dismissed for 78 at home to Broadbottom, with N Redfern coming out of retirement to make 40 as Steve Croft took 5-9. A Jones made 30 for Broadbottom as they reached 80 for the loss of two wickets.