New chairman

The new chairman of New Mills Town Council for 2012/13 is Councillor Janet Carter.

She takes over the role held last year by Cllr Alan Barrow who was elected by members as the new Vice Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Carter said she hoped to follow in Cllr Barrow’s footsteps and thanked him for his efforts in overseeing a very good year for the council.